Flatiron Building Toronto - Flatiron Building Toronto information and pictures
was built in 1891 and is one of the most photographed buildings in Toronto
. It was purchased from the Goodenham family who were in the distillery business and owned Gooderham and Worts Distillery
It was designed by architect David Roberts and its unique shape makes it the first flatiron building preceding the Flatiron building in New York. This red brick Gothic Romanesque landmark is located in downtown Toronto at the intersection of Front st. Wellington St. and Church Street. Flatiron building had the first manually operated elevator in the city.
In 1975 the Flatiron building was declared a National Historic Site. It is now owned by Michael and Anne Tippin. They bought the building in 1998 and made major restorations. At the back of the building a mural is painted by Canadian artist Derek Besant which is a mirror image of the building across the street.
“Flatiron & Firkin” is located in the basement of Flatiron Building and is very popular meeting place. The pub is shaped like a V and there aren't a lot of seats but during the summer an outdoor patio is open.
Where is Flatiron Building
: 49 Wellington Street East
How to get to Flatiron Building
: Subway Yonge-University-Spadina to Union Station
Flatiron Building, Toronto
Flatiron Building Toronto with the BCE Place
office towers in the background
Flatiron Building Mural Trompe l’Oeil,
Flatiron Building stairs,Toronto
Please help us build a better site. Add your comments about Flatiron Building Toronto here